Student Spotlight-Sophie McKibben

Sophie

  • Name: Sophie McKibben
  • Year: 2016
  • Concentration: History

1. What type of fellowship/research experiences have you been involved with during your time in college?

During my time at Brown I’ve been an UTRA recipient, an Impact Providence (now called iProv) recipient, a Royce fellow and a Truman Scholar. My work has been across the board — as an Impact Providence fellow I ran BRYTE Summer Camp, as an UTRA I researched food security among refugee communities in Providence at the School of Public Health, and my Royce was focused on narrative journalism and public history, especially as it related to labor and laborers in the Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York (where I’m from). So – I’ve run the gamut.


 

2. How did you find out about this opportunity/these opportunities?

I found out about them from friends, professors, and advisers.


 

3. What is your favorite part about being a Royce Fellow and a Truman Scholar?

I love the community that surrounds both of the programs. Both really emphasis collaboration, and getting to know the other people involved. I’ve met some truly incredible Royce fellows and Truman Scholars and continually feel inspired by their work and commitment.


 

4. How has being involved with these fellowships shaped your future goals and plans?

In every way imaginable. They’ve introduced me to new people, new places, new ways of working and researching and being engaged in my communities and our world. They’ve opened the door to me to pursue graduate work and given me the work experience needed to hit the ground running in the “real world” post Brown.


 

5. Any advice for students looking to apply for fellowships?

Just apply! I never thought I was “qualified” for any of them…but my philosophy was to open as many doors as possible. There are so many opportunities at Brown that you might as well try to take advantage of while you’re here. So just apply. And when you’re applying, don’t worry about trying to fit what you think the profile of a Truman or Royce or a UDALL — just be yourself. My experiance has taught me that what all these fellowships are really looking for are hardworking, genuine, interested people. Good luck!
Leave a Reply

