New Beginnings

dsc_0253

Hello! My name is Victor Bramble and I am the new coordinator for Fellowships, Internships, and Research experiences (FIRe) at the Curricular Resource Center and the new author (coordinator? steward?) of the CRC FIRe Blog.

Mya has left  a tremendous legacy with her work in this role last year and I hope to honour that legacy while expanding the role and this blog in my own way.

So we can begin with introductions. As it says on the CRC website (is this advertising?), I am currently a senior studying Ethnic Studies and Modern Culture and Media. My research focuses on digital media and in particular the power of digital media technologies wield given their evolution from histories of colonialism and violence. Right now I am working on research into the way violence committed by police officers is archived online as well as research into the circulation of images of Black death on social media.

In my role as FIRe coordinator I hope to continue and expand Mya’s vision for this role to make different fellowship and research opportunities more visible and more accessible to all students. When I say this, I mean that I want to work intentionally to help underrepresented minority students, First Generation and Low-Income college students, and any other student who has been made to feel like the things they are interested in and the work they want to do is unimportant or not worth supporting. I want to affirm that you have ideas that are worthwhile and there are opportunities out there that can help you pursue them.

Now I recognize that these are big goals and so to work towards accomplishing them I will be continuing to develop this Blog, holding my hours in the CRC (which you can view here), and doing other collaborative programming between the CRC and other university centers.

This Blog will continue to have primarily 3 types of posts:

  • Opportunity Spotlights
  • Student Spotlights
  • Application tips

In my hours you can also come talk to me about thinking about research and fellowship opportunities, developing your research questions, and how to apply for different opportunities as well as more general advising on your classes, life, the open curriculum, etc.

If you’re reading this, I hope to see you in the office or hear from you over email at some point over the next few months, even if you feel like you don’t have your questions narrowed down to something very specific.

Warmly,

Victor

 

Leave a Reply

