Student Spotlight – Floripa Olguin

floripa_olguin_headshotName: Floripa Olguin

Year: 2016.5

Concentration: Ethnic Studies and Public Policy

Floripa has been involved with social advocacy work through the GISP program, the Public Policy and International Affairs Junior Summer Institute, The Native American Community Academy, the World Bank, and Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisers. Read on to learn more about Floripa’s path as scholar, activist, and leader both in and outside of Brown.


What kind of research experiences, internships, or fellowships have you been involved with during college?

I’ve been involved in two group independent study projects (GISP), the first was about Ivy League institutions and their relationship with Native students, and the second was about the first generation college student in the Ivy League. I’ve also done research as part of a fellowship called the Public Policy and International Affairs Junior Summer Institute at Princeton University. My research was about hepatitis C vaccine for state prison populations.

I’ve also interned at my old high school, the Native American Community Academy, the World Bank, and Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors. I did a research project for both the World Bank and the Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors. The first was an analytical project that looked at Native youth leadership programs in Ecuador, Panama, Peru, and the United States. The project I did at Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors looked at philanthropy’s work with mass incarceration and criminal justice reform.

How have these experiences shaped your goals and plans for the future?

I think that what I’ve researched has aligned with social justice. So I’d say that these experiences shape by goals and plans because they allow me to challenge myself both academically and within the realm of social justice. It shows me that not only is it possible to be a scholar, a community member, or an activist, but that it’s necessary.

What was your favorite part of or an interesting story about a research experience, internship, or fellowship you participated in?

I think my favorite part about the research projects with my internships is that they were useful to my supervisors that I was working with. This showed me that research is really important and can have real world implications.

Do you have any advice for students looking to potentially pursue opportunities similar to what you’ve pursued?

I would say to stay true to your values and goals while growing. This has always helped me when looking for a new opportunity.

Leave a Reply

