Finding Undergrad Research Opportunities!

Hello readers!

My name is Ijeoma Meremikwu (she/her/hers) and I wear multiple hats. Two of those hats are that I am a senior here at Brown and I am the Fellowships, Internships, and Research Experience (FIRe) Coordinator at the Curricular Resource Center (CRC) for Peer Advising. I am here to give advice and to also help my peers get into and thrive in research opportunities and fellowships! Whether you have never heard of research or have thought of trying it out but don’t know where to start, I am here to help and guide you through the process.

Research can look different across fields, the type of questions, and also the person. It is a personal journey where mentorship and academic support are needed for growth. In a sense, it really does take a village of people to help and give you guidance. Here at Brown, some opportunities are available and some that may be hidden, just like the “hidden curriculum”. My goal is to illuminate those hidden paths for students, emphasize important ways to navigate research spaces, and also nurture good mentoring relationships with those in the research community!

But first things first, how do you get into a research opportunity here @ Brown or elsewhere?

I created an infographic called “FIRe ROADMAP”. It is a general guide for undergraduates to follow to find, apply, and get into research opportunities for the summer or here at Brown!

I encourage you to look over the guide, click on the links, and start your own research journey! Also, come to my open office hours with the FIRe Coordinator Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11 am to 1 pm at the CRC (167 Angell Street). If you want help looking for opportunities, drafting emails, reflecting on the next steps on your own research journey, or anything else, please stop by, drink tea/cocoa, and sit on the couch while we chat about potential exciting opportunities. 

Go to RESEARCH OPPORTUNITIES TAB to find the Resource!

Email fire@brown.edu if you have any questions!

Leave a comment